A Pointy Present

Standard

ImageI completed a second secret Christmas project this year. It was an important one as a special present for my sister, and I stupidly gave myself 1 week to complete it. So I was knitting and building up until the 23rd December. I saw it in a magazine in a shop and I couldn’t help but buy it as it sums up my sister and is the perfect present for her. It is a Unicorn designed by one of my knitting heroes Alan Dart so I knew it was going to be good.

I have previously made an Alan Dart Jester for the same reason that I fell in love with the pattern, the Jester however took me a very long time to complete and was a love hate relationship, but luckily for me the unicorn was a relatively easy little Christmas project to sit with on a cold Christmas evening and I really loved it.

I always alter patterns slightly to suit how I knit and the effect that I want and the pattern has a second element which is a small bearded troll to lead the unicorn but I wasn’t too sure about the troll. The Unicorn in the pattern is made in white, grey and silver, but I have this thing for a particular brand of sparkle wool called Twinkle by James C Brett. It comes in lots of different shades but the white in particular is my favourite as it is so sparkly and for a unicorn was the perfect excuse to buy more. I used a stash black acrylic for the hooves and the horn is knitted in a gold metallic yarn by Anchor.

Image

The horse is made in pieces with the body as one large knit, the head, legs and ears are all knitted separately and then attached. I love making these toys but I always find the build the most difficult part. For this toy I wanted it to stand as an ornament so I stuck white pipe cleaners into the legs and they were all able to bend and it enabled the horse to stand. For the mane and tail I used another type of yarn which is a fluffy style wool used to make scarves I think, but I have no idea how I came to have it or where I bought it from but that is the benefit of stashing yarn I think. I was really effective for the mane and tail and really brought the unicorn to life and gave it a glamorous look.

Anyway my sister really loved it and it was a dream to make I can’t recommend Alan Dart’s patterns enough for presents and toys with personality and as a challenge. I bet you could make this Unicorn as well into a regular horse for the horse rider in the family or even… a Pegasus with wings! (Watch this space!)

Image

4 responses »

  1. It’s really gorgeous – can so understand why your sister was over the moon! I’ll definitely look out for Alan Dart patterns – love knitting toys – and I’m curious about that troll! 🙂

Leave a Reply

