Decorating Novices

Standard

I’ve been busy decorating my new house and boy have I got into it. I think I have been to B&Q 10 times this month! Along with my Mum and my husband we began a great makeover of the kitchen, landing and stairs, back porch and garden. I really wanted to brighten it all up as it was quite dark when we moved in. The main problem was the garden as it was full of really tall Leylandi trees that blocked the sun. We had these removed with a local tree surgeon which created a lot of light so I wanted to continue this.

image

View from the kitchen windows with half the trees gone

The couple who owned our house previously loved beige! All shades of beige and I really don’t so using B&Q’s very useful colour charts we started to paint. I went for Lemon Ice on the wall of the kitchen (which sparked 3 days of discussion of ‘is it too yellow?’) And Picket Fence for the landing and wall in the kitchen. Picket Fence is a cream colour before I started picking paints I had no idea about the many shades of cream but planning colours for walls really appeals to the organiser in me. It’s funny how many times in one day we ended up saying picket fence! The woodwork has been cleaned up Antique White! But the hardest part of decorating is the ceiling as we have artex ceilings which are swirly and hard to paint.

image

image

image

My mum’s contribution was to paint the back porch for us. It was a unlovely shade of eighties red brown and looked very unloved. It’s been painted using Fired Earth Eggshell paint in Weald Green and Antique White Gloss. Fired Earth is expensive paint but it looks beautiful now and made an instant difference. I’m trying to grow herbs in it which has given it a lovely smell and I keep the Guinea Pigs food and supplies in there as well as the wellies! I am planning some kind of organiser in there.

image

My favourite parts of our house makeover so far is the wallpaper for the top of the stairs. It was quite daring for my husband and I as we have only rented before and aren’t used to colour and pattern on walls but we wanted to give it a go. It’s called Summer Vacation again by B&Q. (Told you I have spent a lot if time there) and the pattern is built up of postcards and images of travelling. I love it because it has my favourite cities on it such as Paris, Barcelona and London and then cities I need to visit like Venice and New York in pastel shades and I think it looks brilliant.

image

image

I finished the makeover off with a lovely Shell chandelier and a canvas of my favourite film Busstop which has Marilyn Monroe in which I found on sale completely by accident at Dunhelm Mill. The best thing now is buying new items for the kitchen which will compliment the yellow and I have been trying out some new crafts for it as well which I will show soon.

image

image

The garden is a work in progress and is coming a long really well. I think my husband is definitely getting green fingers and I am as well. I love flowers and it’s lovely to see a garden develop. So I will show some more pics soon. The next on the hit list for the house is the bedroom which is painted at the moment in you guessed it Beige!

Leave a Reply

