Northumberland

Standard

I have just come back from an amazing break to Northumberland. We were desperate for a getaway and some peace and quiet so Northumberland was perfect as it is full of open spaces.

We stayed in Bamburgh in the Queen Victoria Hotel and we visited the castle and it’s well worth a visit. We also visited Craster and samples the famous Craster Kippers. As well as Seahouses which is as it sounds by the sea and is beautiful. We spent a beautiful day on Lindisfarne which is a really peaceful place and you can hear the seals barking in the bay. The last day was spent in Anwick doing some shopping and I of course found the local knitting shop which was lovely and I got some supplies for my Christmas knitting projects. I also visited the market and got some hand painted buttons for my latest project soon to follow.

As my husband is a History Teacher our trip wouldn’t have been complete without a trip to see Vindolanda a Roman Fort near Hadrian’s Wall.

It was just lovely to get away and spend some quality time together away from work, washing up and daily stress. I even fitted some knitting in. We loved it and I can’t recommend Northumberland enough for a quiet break in the UK. Ah peace and quiet now over and back to the grind tomorrow.

image

image

Bamburgh Beach

image

image

Holidays

Leave a Reply

