Autumnal Orange Soup

Standard
Autumnal Soup

Autumnal Orange Soup

I don’t normally write about food. I’m definitely not a chef, but I can cook, I can cook some ‘fancy schmancy’ things when necessary but I do cook normal general food every day just like everyone else. But also like everyone else I LOVE food. My weekends revolve around food, however last year I embarked on a change of diet, I gained some extra chub in the summer and really needed to take control of it and lose some weight. I’m one of those people who gains weight by looking at food and when I gain weight I always found it hard to lose it and I used to give up a lot because there is nothing worse then being hungry. I’ve always been a bigger person a ‘normal’ size, but in the summer I got quite large, and there comes a point where you look at yourself and you think bleugh!

So, after hearing only good things about Slimming World I went to a local class, and i signed up and I bought the books and the magazines and tried the recipes. And without sounding cliché the diet actually worked and it is actually NOT a diet it’s a CHANGE of diet. I joined in the August of 2014 and by the January 2015 (Including the Christmas binge!) I lost 2 and a half stone and hit my target weight and now i am the same dress size I was at 16. (WOOHOO!) I felt good again, I rediscovered clothes and the joy of shopping, I got my confidence back and I rediscovered cooking. What Slimming World has is loads of recipes on their website and what you learn through the classes and the website is how to alter recipes you know and love and change them to be a Slimming World meal. I haven’t gone back to class since I lost the weight as my life at the moment is all about ‘Maintain! Maintain! Maintain!’ but I still buy the magazines and me and my husband (who also lost 2 and a half stone, faster than I did aswell!) and we still follow the plan a year after I first went to class.

The main meal that I find the most frustrating is lunch. Eugh I hate lunch I struggle to find food I like and with working full time it’s a pain to buy lunch and get lunch out. You don’t know what’s in the food and I am really fussy when it comes to sandwiches. So I always make my lunch. All summer it has been layered salads and they are scrummy and a really good way of hitting your five fruits and veg a day without thinking about it too much. However it is cold now and rainy and autumnal and at lunch time a salad ain’t going to hit it! So I made a soup the other day it is based on a soup my parent’s made when i was younger and a soup Slimming World have on their website and it is delightful both for the eyes and the tum. So I thought I would share my lovely Autumnal Orange Soup with you guys and pretend I am the next Nigella!

Ingredients you will need:

  • Butternut Squash- Peeled and sliced into chunks (you will need to take 20 minutes out your day to peel this thing it’s skin is like wood! cut it in half and then cut it in half lengthways to peel it that’s how i do it)
  • 1 Large Potato- peeled and cut into chunks
  • 2 Medium sized Carrots (You can peel this if you wish, i do because my guinea pigs like the peelings)
  • 1 Orange
  • 1 onion finely sliced
  • 800 ml of Vegetable Stock OR chicken Stock depending on your meat tastes
  • Chilli flakes
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 handheld blender or ‘Juzsher’ as we call it in my house
  • 1 Stock Pot/large pan/soup pan/large cooking thing

METHOD:

  1. Take 20-30 minutes to peel all your vegetables and cut into similar sized chunks of orange coloured loveliness (obviously if you are a better cook then me then it won’t take you as long to do). Finely slice your onion and add it to the pot to soften and then add the chunks of squash, potato and carrot
  2. Stir the vegetables around so they heat slightly for about 2-3 minutes and then add the stock water, add all the juice from the orange and the zest of one orange half. Turn up the heat and boil away for 20 minutes
  3. After 20 minutes add a sprinkle of chilli flakes and some seasoning with salt and pepper and boil for another 30 minutes, it will smell delicious!
  4. Then blend using the handheld blender till smooth and serve piping hot with more salt and pepper on top

It is so yummy and is such a gorgeous orange colour it will make you feel all warm and autumnal. The amount of ingredients i have put above will make enough soup either for four hearty servings for yourself or enough for two people to have 2 bowls each!

Slimming World wise this is totally Syn Free, i serve it either with hot toast (a healthy B Extra if you use Warburtons Wholemail 400g loaf which i use) OR Its really nice with Ryvitas, you can have three Ryvitas as a Healthy B Choice Soup and Side(I like Sweet Onion and Black Pepper) and I smother them with 2 triangles of Laughing Cow cheese light and take them as part of my Healthy A Choice.

Thats enough diety stuff, I will see what other recipes i may cook up and put on here for your enjoyment!

Leave a Reply

