Honeymoon Hat Pattern

Standard

When I first started knitting I was 21. And I learnt at a local museum and on my last lesson I was given a load of patterns on print outs to try at home. The one pattern that I loved and have come back to again and again is for a Tam o Shanter hat.

The first time made the hat was for my honeymoon and I recently bought some beautiful turquoise Tweed wool from Abakhans in manchester that I thought would make a perfect hat. So I dug out the old pattern and knitted it up. It took me less than a week in the evenings to do and I love it! It’s so cosy and slouchy and I finished it with a pom pom.

What’s interesting is that now 4 years later from when I first made the hat for my honeymoon is that the pattern wasn’t as hard as I thought and my finished hat has a lot more details of ridges and design then the first one. It does you good to look over past projects and see how far you have come.Β  I love this pattern and I will keep it for the future but it has become known as my honeymoon hat pattern which is very special.

image

Me in my honeymoon hat

Leave a Reply

