Do More of What Makes You Happy

Standard
Do More of What Makes You Happy

My New Years Resolutions for 2016 were to make no resolutions but to do more of what makes me happy. Which is my motto for 2016.

image

I have had a hard few years with a lot of emotional ups and downs. The things I enjoy the most are crafting and making things, being with my girl friends and being with my family. So with this all in mind I took a brave step and I joined the Central Manchester Women’s Institute.

This is something I have been thinking about for a while. My beloved Grandma who was the ultimate crafter and baker was a paid up member for decades and my my Mother – in – Law my other crafty inspiration is a member too. This time last year I would have been too stressed and too nervous to even think about joining the WI. But I have made some changes in my life to have more time for life and decided to bite the bullet.

I went along with some  friends on Tuesday and I absolutely loved it. It was a clothes swap which was brilliant I swapped for a Superdry checked shirt! And with a glass of prosecco forced myself to make an effort talk to people and engage with other like minded young women. The feminist student I was and had forgotten all about was turning somersaults! Amazing! There is a book club, photo club, craft and blogging club as well as the monthly meets. I am joining the craft club which is coming up soon so will hopefully be learning some new crafts and making some new crafty friends. (not just knitted ones!)

So I am pleased to report I am now a fully paid up member of the WI. Long live sisterhood. I am back.

I have added a link to the Manchester WI here http:// http://www.manchesterwi.org.uk

One response »

Leave a Reply

