My Awkward Skin 

Standard
My Awkward Skin 

My skin. In a word is awkward. I am extremely sensitive and dry on some parts  and suffer with rosacea and redness.Then for the last few years i have a teenage T-Zone which is very oily and spot prone. Which is fine except that I didn’t have any spots when I was a teenager and now I am 27 I have more than ever before! I have spent the last year suffering with this. Last winter particularly was bad I had to go to a Hen Do with a planet on my face and was so self conscious when one of my friends innocently mentioned it. Christmas was awful too with sore red patches on my chin and nose and as I had just started a new job then I wanted to be confident but I just didn’t feel right. Skin has such an impact on confidence so I decided that enough was enough and I needed to sort my skin out.

 After spending money on expensive acne treatments that just burnt my face, foundations that either broke me out or dried me out and then copious moisturisers and routines I seem to have found a routine that helps. And I found it at Lush!

The reason I tried Lush is because I wanted something all natural and full of goodness. I thought back to when I was a teenager and I had quite nice skin and if I did get spots they would be tiny compared to the monsters I get now. Whenever I broke out then I used the Mask of Magnaminty. This peppermint, tea tree oil and clay concoction seems to clear oil and seek and destroy blemishes. It stops shiny foreheads and makes skin feel squeaky clean I started using it about 3 times a week in my routine and it instantly helped.

Mask of Magnaminty 

So after going back to the Lush Store for the Magnaminty Mask a third time I decided to go for some skin care as well. It was lovely as I was firstly given some free cleanser samples by one of the skincare assistants to help me decide what I should use as my skin is so wierd. (Handy hint: I’ve kept the little sample pots and use them for weekends away as they are so small and easy to pack!). I experimented with them and I now have a routine  down.

To remove makeup I use the Garnier Micellar Water (which I know isn’t Lush buy it’s so good!). I wear a lot of makeup during the day and this takes it off so easy. (In the morning I don’t use this as I don’t sleep in makeup!) It also comes in handy wipes for weekends away as the bottle is absolutely massive. 

 Then I use Ultrabland. This is a lovely calming balm cleanser with almond oil, bees wax, Rose water and honey. I smooth this on and take it off after a minute or so with two cold cotton wool pads. You can really see the dirt and gunk come off your skin and it leaves it clean and fresh and nicely moisturised. 

Ultrabland

Some evenings or mornings this is enough but if my skin is feeling a bit dry I use Let the Good Times Roll. This is a harder exfoliating balm with Popcorn and honey in it. It smells like fudge and has maize flour and polenta in it to smooth and remove dead skin and dirt. It’s really moisturising as well so your skin feels cared for. I don’t want to use it everyday as I think this may be a bit harsh on some sections of my face. But I do see an improvement to my skin texture and my skin feels squeaky clean after.

Let the Good Times Roll

To finish I used a toner water, I used Eau Roma Water which is very simple and made from lavender and rose water which really helps to calm my red skin down and is really refreshing. It comes in a spray bottle and you can either spritz it on your face directly or onto a cotten pad. Once I have cleansed, toned I moisturise but that is a whole other story which I won’t go into here.

Eau Roma Water

I really like Lush cosmetics as they are all natural and my skin has really improved. One of my friends told me it looked ‘glowier’ recently which is very nice to hear for someone with such awkward skin. I find the lush skincare soothes and cares for my skin and I think they are also great value for money as they last for ages. The staff in Lush are also lovely and helpful. I also partake in their recycle scheme and get a free fresh face mask with every 5 pots I take back. This is great as I can try some other masks for a break from magnaminty as the fresh masks don’t last as long so are good for a quick change. I am using Catastrophe Cosmetic with blueberries and Irish moss to brighten my skin at the moment and although it’s no Magnaminty it’s lovely to use and it definitely does clear and brighten skin. So it’s a second favourite. 

Catastrophe Cosmetic

So my awkward skin is still awkward but not in can handle the awkwardness a little bit better.

Here is a link to the Lush site for all their lovely things!

lush

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

