January Favourites

Standard
January Favourites

Oh thankfully January is over! No offence to January lovers but I find this month so long and boring. It’s years since payday and its dark and cold and just bleugh. However I do have some favourites this month to add to my list.

1) Wearing a Watch

For Christmas ( So long ago!) My husband bought me a watch. I don’t have the best history of watches as I usually lose them or break them. He loves Fossil watches and they are pretty indestructible and so he got me one too as a surprise. I love it! It has a big white round face so I can actually see the time, two straps a grey suede and a beige leather and it has diamantΓ© round it’s face like a little crown. It’s beautiful but is also so useful as I now know the time. At all times…

What time is it?

2) Using Lancome Audacity London

One of my makeup heroes is Lisa Aldridge. I love watching her makeup tutorial videos on you tube and I have her book the History of Makeup which is amazing. She is currently working with Lancome and brought out eyeshadow pallettes, one inspired by London and one inspired by Paris. The shadows are beautiful to apply and stay all day. You can build some really nice smoky eye looks and there are also some shimmer pigments that you can add to highlight your look. I especially love the green colours and the purples are also beautiful.

3) Wearing my Lamb Slippers

Oh gosh. It is so cold that the only thing to wear is slippers. I got these Lamb slippers from Next for Christmas again and they are 0amazing. They are so cosy and so cute. The first thing I reach for when I get home from work is my lamb slippers. I especially love them because I like knitting and yarn so its like a homage to the sheep… on my feet.

4) Reading The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien

I have seen the films, but like many people I had never read the book. This has been on my book bucket list for a while. To be honest I put off reading it. I don’t know why but it just didn’t appeal to me at first. But once I got over the first chapter I really enjoyed it. It’s so easy to read and the illustrations are lovely. It’s a proper adventure story and its really fun and in places quite creepy. So yes to the Hobbit.

5) Watching La La Land

If you have not seen this film you must go. It is absolutely wonderful. It’s so beautiful to look at and the music is amazing if you like classic Hollywood and musicals then it is a must. I can’t get the tunes out of my head. Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling are also iconic in this. I watched it at the cinema and I got completely wrapped up in it that I forgot where I was. Go and see end of.

6) Having a date

My husband and I have been having a tough time as of late with our poor flooded house. We are still not living at home and with some other stuff going on in the background and both working full time it has been very stressful. So we decided to have a date and spend some quality time together and it was the best night in January for me. We had dinner at Burger Lobster which is delicious, walked around Manchester just talking and putting our lives back together and then went to HOME to have a drink in the bar and watch La La Land. It was just a perfect date and just what we needed. Life can be tough sometimes so taking a break is definitely what is needed.

Looking forward to February one of my favourite months…

Leave a Reply

