Flood Update: House Tour

Standard
Flood Update: House Tour

Finally we have moved home! It’s been an incredibly stressful, downright awful and at times truly heartbreaking 5 months but now that is behind us and we are home again! Through some excessive hardwork and money saving we have been able to upgrade our house and I love it! So I thought I would take you on a little tour MTV cribs style…well sort of.

Entrance Hallway

The water stretched through to here so we had the floor redone. It was odd as I had to put the Welcome Mat on the insurance damage list. So we have a new ‘Cat Welcome Mat’ and I have a mirror. I don’t like hanging coats here as I like it to be open and easy to enter the house. The flooring downstairs starts here and its painted in Jasmine White.

Hallway

The lounge

So I was happy with my living room when the house flooded. I felt like it had literally just been done so it was pretty tough seeing it in such a mess. We managed to save the armchair, the TV and stand and the Marseilles Wallpaper in the alcoves which I love. The floor was replaced by the insurance company and we had a wooden laminate in a lighter shade put throughout. The walls were repainted in the same colour which is Fog by B&Q Colours. We replaced my beloved turquoise sofa, with the French Connection Zinc Sofa by DFS in blue with matching foot rest and its so comfy! We also managed to replace the big seventies shag pile rug that was completely ruined by the water as it soaked it all up. We found the exact same one on sale in Ikea lucky lucky. We then bought some box shelving units in white as I like to display our books and ornaments. I’ve added some cool little random bits and pieces like a Jam Jar light from a local scandinavian inspired shop and a Mango Wood End Table by John Lewis with copper legs. My living room is now back to its usual beautiful self and its lovely.

DFS Zinc sofa

The Kitchen

The kitchen has been the most stressful room and the room most damaged by the water. We decided that as the bottom units of the kitchen were wrecked, that as we had some money saved up we would replace and upgrade the whole kitchen. We looked at a few different stores and in the end we settled on the Bodbyn Kitchen from Ikea. It’s in off white with an oak laminate wooden work top. What I liked about Ikea was that as we have quite high ceilings I could get kitchen units that stretched nearly all the way to the top giving us extra storage and making the most of the space. I wanted a country style kitchen and this was perfect. All the appliances are built in, something I just wanted as it looks neat. We also managed to also squeeze in a mini dishwasher. My favourite part is the large Belfast sink with the black antique tap it adds to the country feel. The floor from the living room was taken through to here to add flow to the house and keep it spacious. To finish the walls my husband spent a long time tiling them in a sage green metro tile from B&Q which keeps the look up to date. The walls were painted in Dulux Jasmine White with accent walls in a Dulux green called Overtly Olive. And I put back our favourite frame wall in here to add personality. We bought a table and chairs to fit the room also from Ikea and it was worth all the stress as it’s now beautiful and much more usable.

Kitchen

Frame Wall

The Porch

The porch was the first place the water came in, through vents the previous owner had added for their tumble dryer. It was also a bit of a forgotten space after the water hit. I had it retiled in an Italian terracotta tile from Wickes which sets off the green in the kitchen and the woodwork of the porch. It has had a fresh coat of paint of white paint and the vents filled in. It’s looking a thousand times better and is water tight. We use it to store gardening supplies.

The Porch

The Cellar

I hate the cellar it is just not a place for me I find cellars creepy and stay out of them but it still needed a lot of work. It had to have the water and mud pumped out before it could dry. It was completely professionally cleaned and repainted with masonry paint. We use the Cellar like a garage and it is my husbands domain for his tools and lawn mower etc. We plan to get metal shelves to store everything off the floor and add some shelves to keep other items. ( I have no picture here because it’s creepy!)

The Stairs and landing

Whilst the house was a wreck we had plasterers in. Particularly for the kitchen walls but we also had them skim the artex ceilings on the landing. It looks nice and smooth now but the plaster made a huge mess. I paid extra for the insurance company to Decorate the walls and ceiling in the same Jasmine White from the kitchen. I have managed to save the original postcard wallpaper and the shell light fitting from the plasterer too. As part of the insurance we had the landing recarpeted in a cream carpet which is in all the bedrooms upstairs and its a lovely fluffy carpet. 

The Bathroom

The bathroom was not affected by the flood but it was affected by the workmen using it to clean brushes and plasterer equipment. Tut Tut. So this had to be deep cleaned and to add to the brightness of the house the floor was replaced by a limestone effect lino which is a similar shade to the carpet. I do love my bathroom and I missed it whilst I was away. It has the best bath and a huge window so it’s nice and bright. We had the old victorian window replaced with a single frosted pane so it’s even lighter still. Whilst the house was empty we had all the windows replaced throughout the house. I bought bright blue towels from John Lewis to add colour to the room.

Spot the Lush haul!

The Master Bedroom

Oh my bedroom. It has to be my favourite room. I wanted the bedroom to be calming so it’s white and a pale blue. We repainted the walls in Jasmine White to match the rest of the house and as I find the seaside so relaxing and refreshing it has a bit of a seaside theme. I have wallpaper on the back wall of boats and fishermen and some harbour art work. As well as some gorgeous travel posters of Northumberland, my favourite place, bar home. I have my beloved Versailles dressing table from Dunhelm Mill in here and Ikea wardrobes in a white. We had the carpet redone in the same cream as the landing and its just so spacious and calm. I really missed it when we had to move out for a while.


The Little Room

This is our spare room. It is soon to have an exciting purpose as our baby’s room. It has been a rollercoaster of a pregnancy made so much better by being able to come home. A truly wonderful thing to be having my first baby. But for now this room is closed for renovation! ( also because it is full of stuff I haven’t sorted yet!)

Closed for renovation

If we go back downstairs we have the garden.  My husband is a great gardener and the garden is looking lovely. Once we have some sunshine it’s a great space to be and the cat’s favourite place.

Garden

So there you go that was my MatV Cribs-esque house tour of the work we have done. I hope you enjoyed it if you made it to this part of the blog I salute you as this is a particularly long post. I can’t describe to you how hard it’s been being away from home to be back now is just amazing and as we have a new little one on the way life is good right now. A woman’s home is her castle and mine is definitely that.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

