May Favourites 

Standard
May Favourites 

I love May. May is my birthday month so we normally have lots of lovely things planned. Expect lots of Birthday Presents in this list as I have been spoilt this year!

1) Wearing: Paris Dressing Gown 

I have seen this dressing gown everywhere as of late and every time I go on and on about how much I love it. So eventually my Mum bought it for me from the Country Living Magazine Show we went to in April. It’s made by One Hundred Stars and is a very light dressing gown perfect for the warmer months. I love the colours pink and Tiffany blue colours and the vintage map of Paris that has been hand printed onto the fabric. I feel glamorous and vintage when I wear this and I just love it. You can get it online and in lots of little boutique shops.

One Hundred Stars Dressing Gown

2) Using: Benefit Porefessional Makeup

I went hunting for a new foundation this month as the Clinique foundation I was using was so heavy on my skin and I was leaving my face behind on other people and clothing. So I went to Benefit as it is always my first choice for makeup. I didn’t like their Oxygen Wow foundation so I was dubious but I was shown their brand new Porefessional Makeup. It comes in a tube with a hidden sponge applicator on the bottom and a press me button on the other end. It is so clever and I love clever makeup. You can wear it alone or on top of another foundation. I wear it on top of a tinted moisturiser and my skin looks smooth, glowy and poreless. It’s not a full coverage look so on blemish days I use concealer and powder. And they only have a few shades as its not a typical foundation. But I really love this as it is so light and as I am having a baby my skin is so sensitive at the moment and this doesn’t irritate me or clog pores. Great purchase. 

Porefessional Makeup

3) Smelling: White Tea by Elizabeth Arden

For my birthday my husband got me a new perfume. I had smelt it in Debenhams the week before and I must have mentioned it to him. (Shameless hint). Its such a lovely light perfume for spring/summer. It has scents of White Tea, Italian Mandarin, Sea Breeze and Turkish Rose. It’s beautiful and so fresh. I love the simple white bottle as well perfect for my desire for things to be uncomplicated at the moment. And I spray it liberally everywhere.

Elizabeth Arden White Tea

4) Eating: Weetos

OK ok I know chocolate cereal is bad. I know this and I have a friend at work who tells me everyday how bad it is to eat Weetos but I am obsessed. I don’t know if it’s a baby craving or if it’s because I have denied myself this kind of food for the last 3 years and I am now relaxing my diet but I can’t get enough. I love them and they are my guilty pleasure. Also whilst suffering with Morning/Evening sickness these are the only things I could happily keep down. While I can I will eat Weetos.

Weetos!

5) Packing: Cath Kidston Tropical Print Over the Shoulder Bag

For my birthday my sister bought me an over the shoulder bag. Now I usually avoid these and prefer the larger throw it all in huge bag but as I want things to be simpler and lighter I wanted a smaller bag. I don’t usually shop in Cath Kidston either it’s not really my thing but my sister loves it and I have to say this fabric pattern with the tropical birds is more me then the other fabrics Cath likes. I like the pastel pink colour and I like the magnet closing on the bag as it’s easy to get things in and out. The strap is also adjustable and it encourages me to carry less stuff so it’s a winner. 

Cath Kidston Bag

6) Reading: My Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier 

I have never read Daphne Du Maurier before. I have heard of her and I know she was a famous author in the thirties to the fifties. My grandma loved reading and she was a fan of this particular author and novel. I like reading books I know my Grandma also read as it makes me feel closer to my family as both my Grandmas died when I was so young. read the blurb for this book and I had to buy it. It follows a man named Philip Ashley who has been brought up by his cousin Ambrose. They own a large estate in Cornwall and life is quiet and pleasant apart from his cousin having to travel abroad for health reasons in the winter. One such winter Ambrose travels to Italy which is where he meets Rachel a distant relative in Florence. Ambrose, an eternal bachelor, marries Rachel and then suspiciously dies of a brain fever. Philip is encouraged to invite Rachel to stay at the house where he also succumbs to her charms. However there are too many strange occurrences and mysteries around this women and Philip foolish in love makes some mistakes. Such a great romantic mystery thriller and it kept my guessing till the end. I loved it and quickly downloaded her other novels. This is also coming out soon as a film with Rachel Weisz so you know it has to be good!

My Cousin Rachel

I hope you enjoyed my favourites this month. I’ve been writing these lists for nearly a year now and they are a great way for me to keep track of my month.

Leave a Reply

