Pregnancy Diary June

Standard

Diary for weeks 18-21 (June 2017)

Ooh I have grown this month I am getting a proper bump now and in the UK heatwave it has become slightly uncomfortable. I am not complaining as I love my bump but it is amazing how a bit of extra weight can make such a difference! I have been using my stretchmarks creams to help my stretching skin and I thought I had one stretchmark but so far I have none. I think because I have been slightly bigger in the past my skin has some stretch to it. My main food love at the moment is Tartar Sauce. I could literally have it with everything fish finger sandwiches especially!

20 weeks (Baby Center App)

So I am now 21 weeks over the hump of the bump so to speak 19 weeks to go and 14 weeks left in work! Haha! I never expected to get this far which I know sounds funny but I never did think I would be pregnant or carry my own baby so it is a small miracle.

Last weekend I felt the baby kick for the first time which is an amazing feeling! We were at the Manchester Day Parade in the 30 degree heat (crazy) to see my Dad in the parade and there was so much drumming when the drummers stopped in front of me the baby just started moving and kicking and I felt it properly for the first time. I haven’t felt any of the usual delicate ‘flutters’ the movements I have felt are full on prods and I love them all!

Daddy the Magician in the Manchester Day Parade

Also in other news we have bought a pram! Nobody tells you how expensive the pram is going to be! It cost more then my wedding dress which up until now apart from the kitchen is the most expensive thing I’ve owned. Oh the pram though is so clever. We have bought a Silver Cross Pioneer in the Henley colour pack. It is a blue grey colour with brown handles. (Neutral for boys and girls). I was recommended the Silver Cross prams by my friend who already has two beautiful boys. They are very sturdy but very nice looking and are so flexible.

You buy the main ‘chassis’ (I think that is how you spell it) and then that fits the main seat which can move position from lying down to sitting up as baby grows and it fits the car seat as well so you can pop from the car straight out for smaller journeys. I like that they come with all the accessories like the matching nappy bag, rain cover and colour pack and they also have a cup holder for your Costa. Because yes I will be one of those Mums. We also liked the pioneer for its multi terrain wheels as we like to get out and about and will be doing with the baby. It’s so exciting it really is. When we bought the pram however we quickly realised our beloved Citreon C1 is too small for the baby so we need a nice sensible family car at some point before November.

Silver Cross Pioneer in Henley

The other items I have for the baby is a Christening gown from my husbands side of the family. It is a handmade Brussels lace gown that we think dates from 1900. I wanted it as I will be baptising my baby as I am Catholic (shock horror) and my husbands Grandfather and we think his Great Grandma were christened in this gown so it is a proper family dress. The initials of the babies christened in the dress are embroidered in the collar of the gown which I think is so special and we will be adding our baby’s initials to the dress. My Mum has managed to clean up the dress and fix it and it’s really beautiful. I have a shawl that I was given on my wedding day made by my Aunty which we will also use. I just need bootees and and a bonnet. And obviously a bib!

The dress all cleaned up!

Ah 26th June we have had our anomaly scan today. Baby is happy and healthy and is all the right measurements. Baby was a bit awakward as it was lying on its front. We also found out that baby is a…….Boy! So excited we have his name all picked out and it feels so nice to know how to refer to him! Can’t wait to meet our little boy. Love him so much.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

